The Prince of Wales Colliery by Sir Bill O’Brien

£7.00

This concise publication by Sir Bill O’Brien recounts the history and events which took place at the Prince of Wales Colliery throughout its 133 year history.

Commencing with the founding the Prince of Wales Colliery and Brickworks in 1869 by John Rhodes, followed by the sinking of shafts on 21st June1870 and its official opening on 8th October 1874 through to its closure in 2002, this book offers an important and fascinating account of what was a major source of employment in Pontefract for over 130 years.

In stock