Executive Committee

The Officers and Trustees are elected at the Annual General Meeting to develop the charity and to deliver the civic society strategy, to build relationships with stakeholders, and to manage our performance including recruitment and retention of all categories of membership. Pontefract Civic Society is a member of Civic Voice, the national umbrella lobbying body for the civic movement, Yorkshire & Humber Association of Civic Societies, The Yorkshire Society, National Council for Voluntary Organisations, and NOVA (Wakefield). Paul Cartwright is a trustee and Executive committee member of YHACS, and a member of the Civic Voice Regional Forum.

Paul Cartwright – Chair & Heritage Coordinator
Phil Cook – Vice Chair & Citizenship Coordinator
Julie Stotten – Secretary
Ian Wood – Treasurer
Dr Colin White – Coopted
Peter Taylor – Planning Coordinator
David Hogg
– Rail Coordinator & Talk & Tours Coordinator                         Khalid Rasool – Futures Coordinator                                                                Dr Colin White – Coopted                                                                                Peter Ferrari – Coopted

Dave Hogg

Talks & Tours Coordinator

Talks & Tours Group

The Talks & Tours Group organises a varied programme of informative and entertaining speakers, not solely about Pontefract, plus a few visits throughout the year. Our 2022 programme has been planned for in person events, though Zoom will be a back up position. 

For 2022, we have changed our talks programme timing, which will be held on the third Monday each month, which are FREE to members, and available to non-members for a modest charge plus admin fee via Eventbrite.

Visits comprise of tours of local businesses, and guided walks in other towns hosted by a local civic society, though these are on hold until 2022.

David Hogg – Coordinator
Dr Colin White – Deputy Coordinator
Mike Skidmore
Paul Cartwright
Mollie Garbett
Dr Claire Macdonald 


Citizenship Coordinator

Citizenship Group

The Citizenship Group is responsible for recruiting members, organising our presence at community events, book sales, engaging with schools (Junior Civic Society) and encouraging civic pride, as well as working with volunteers in our Decoration Squad which comprises civic society members, individuals from the community & business, and other community groups.

Phil Cook – Coordinator
Christine Cartwright
Carol Trueman
Paul Cartwright

Phil Henfrey and John Turner

Heritage Group

The Heritage Group is responsible for promoting an awareness and appreciation of our rich historic past and heritage, through research, guided walks for annual events and visiting groups (not just civic societies), local history publications, and blue plaques. A significant part of this work is Heritage Open Days, each September, where we partner with other organisations, speakers and guides.

Paul Cartwright – Interim Coordinator
Philip Henfrey
– Heritage Open Days Coordinator 
Phil Cook
Linda Benson-Henfrey
John Turner

Derek Norfolk

Peter Taylor
Planning Coordinator

Planning Group

The Planning Group meets on a monthly basis to review, and comment on planning applications, and also focuses on our response to conservation and listed building matters. We are represented on the Harworth led Prince of Wales Liaison Group, and we were represented on the Wakefield MDC led Townscape Heritage Initiative grants board ensuring over 30 properties benefited from the scheme. Our annual Design Awards and Countess of Rosse ‘Facade of the Year’ falls within our remit.

Peter Taylor – Coordinator
Philip Henfrey – Deputy Coordinator
Paul Cartwright 
Christine Cartwright 

Derek Vaux (left) with Design Awards guests from Pontefract & Ackworth Almshouse Trust.

Highways Group

The Highways Group meets at intervals throughout the year to consider and campaign for improved road infrastructure, cycle routes and pedestrianisation in Pontefract and the surrounding area. Our discussions and proposals are routinely presented and debated with Wakefield MDC Transportation & Highways Department, which includes our support for the South Featherstone Link Road, in particular, a route from the Hemsworth bypass towards junction 31 of the M62, thus relieving congestion through Ackworth and Pontefract.

Anthony Dee – Coordinator & Administrator
David Hogg
Derek Vaux
Peter Cookson
Paul Cartwright
Derek Norfolk

Dave Hogg

Rail Group Coordinator

Rail Group

The Rail Group meets on a monthly basis and is led by rail users and enthusiasts who focus on a better rail deal for those in and around Pontefract, including improved services and infrastructure at our three station (Monkhill, Baghill, and Tanshelf). We lobby Wakefield MDC, West Yorkshire Combined Authority, and train operating companies on behalf of Pontefract and the Five Towns area, and we’re pleased to have helped secure the new footbridge and lifts project at Monkhill. Pontefract Civic Society is a member of Railfuture (Y&H).

David Hogg – Coordinator
Anthony Dee – Administrator
Peter Cookson
Philip Henfrey
Chris Hyomes
Paul Cartwright
Ian Wood
Rosemary Barnes